The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

I think i am to old

Old April 15th, 2016, 06:58 AM

I think i am to old

Damn i am depressed. I am 60. I have been looking for a job since i got my diabetes under control. I was in the hospital june of 2014 with a blood sugar of 814. I didn't know i had a problem with diabetes but had been sick off and on for at least a year or more. I have been puting out resumes for all of 2015 and this year to date. I am at a loss what to do next. I am a highly skilled aircraft interior mech,heavy structure,light structure,and repair 36 years. I have no power plant. I just had to vent a little.Neeley
Old April 15th, 2016, 07:03 AM
Administrator

Sorry about your health issues. Have you thought about contracting? I did it back in the 80's when I worked in the aircraft industry. You may have to travel, but the pay and per diem used to be very good. There are recruiters specifically for this.
Old April 15th, 2016, 07:23 AM

Originally Posted by oldcutlass
Sorry about your health issues. Have you thought about contracting? I did it back in the 80's when I worked in the aircraft industry. You may have to travel, but the pay and per diem used to be very good. There are recruiters specifically for this.
Eric i have thought about contracting. I can not see my way clear. My 81 year old dad is in poor health and has memory problems. My older brother will not help at all. Their is no one else left to care for him. My step mom passed 4 years ago. So i need to stay close. I live 40 miles from him and i go and check on him weekly and phone him. I take him to all doctor appointments and pick him up to get his groceries every week. He is no longer able to drive.
Old April 15th, 2016, 08:13 AM
Hookers under Hood

Sorry about you job status as well as health issues, Its a tough economy at the moment, has been for years now.