The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

Chappaquiddick Oldsmobile

Search this Thread

Old May 3rd, 2022, 07:16 PM

Chappaquiddick Oldsmobile

I hesitated for a moment because I don't want to come off as morbid, however as usual curiosity gets the best of me
I was watching a program where they flashed a photo of Ted Kennedy (no politics involved here) I think I was a freshman in Highschool at the time of the Chappaquiddick incident so I had a lot of other things on my mind, Washington & Kennedys was not one of them however
being a car guy I vaguely remember seeing the car and thinking one of the Kennedys drives the same car as my Grandpa ?
So doing a little review I think it was a Oldsmobile Delmont 88, Wow with Kennedy money I would have figured a 98 however there is no mention of the year I'm guessing 68.
My question is what year was it, was it a Delmont 88 and most of all what happened to it ? was it destroyed or or is it locked away some where ?
Old May 3rd, 2022, 07:26 PM

Olds was a1967 Delmont 88 and kennedy is an ***
Old May 3rd, 2022, 07:46 PM

google Chappaquiddick Oldsmobile pics

Old May 3rd, 2022, 07:47 PM

Originally Posted by Ancient Iron
Olds was a1967 Delmont 88 and kennedy is an ***
Was
Old May 3rd, 2022, 07:48 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by Ancient Iron
kennedy is an ***
What politician isn't?
Old May 3rd, 2022, 08:51 PM

Originally Posted by no1oldsfan
What politician isn't?
he wasnt one when this happened
Old May 3rd, 2022, 08:57 PM

"Ted" Kennedy was a US Senator from November 7, 1962 – August 25, 2009
the Chappaquiddick "incident" occurred July 18-19, 1969
Old May 3rd, 2022, 09:26 PM

Is the car still around in someone’s collection like the Bonnie and Clyde death car or Hitlers Mercedes or was it destroyed ? You never can tell what people collect .
Old May 4th, 2022, 02:57 AM