change from single master cylinder to dual

Search this Thread

Old June 21st, 2015, 11:44 AM

change from single master cylinder to dual

Well, it's time to change the old 66 from a single master to dual cylinder brakes. Has anyone done this? I think the master cylinder is getting a little weak, and I've been putting this off for 45 years.

I guess everything was fine, when it had a 6 popper in it but engine changes, tranny upgrades and rear end changes make this a little quicker than before, and I'd hate to wreck it, after all these years.

I'll need
a dual master cylinder
brake lines (better to order or make my own?
proportioning valve- is this needed?

What else?

Thanks, all.

Last edited by arcee1951; June 22nd, 2015 at 12:34 PM.
Old June 21st, 2015, 12:51 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by arcee1951
Well, it's time to change the old 66 from a single master to dual cylinder brakes. Has anyone done this?
No. No one has ever done this. You would be the first...

Seriously, Oldsmobile did it in 1967. All you need are the parts from a 67 and it all bolts up.

proportioning valve- is this needed?
Only if you have disc brakes. Once again, drum brakes do NOT use a proportioning valve. The distribution block that has the differential pressure switch for the BRAKE light on the dash is NOT a proportioning valve and is not needed if you don't have a BRAKE light or care about being told you have a brake leak shortly after your foot goes all the way to the floor.
Old June 21st, 2015, 12:54 PM

I got a Centric master cylinder from John Andreotti at Ott's Friction Supply. Plumbed the rear line directly to the master cylinder, same for the front line, to a T, and then to the front brakes. Get a pushrod retainer cup from Inline Tube so the pushrod can't fall out. The repro cup or derby hat is INL 12439.
Old June 21st, 2015, 01:07 PM
Old(s) Fart