Soft pedal and brake light at startup

Search this Thread

Old April 2nd, 2013, 09:11 AM

Soft pedal and brake light at startup

A couple of times recently on startup, I've had the brake pedal go soft and the brake light comes on. Pump the pedal a time or two and everything returns to normal. Checked the obvious and brake fluid level is fine and always has been. Any advice on how to diagnose?

Car is a '69 Cutlass and previous owner installed an Inline Tube front disk conversion about 3 years ago. Looks like it was done right and has worked perfectly up to now with weekend type use of 1-2k miles/year. I have limited brake work experience, just changed pads on a few cars over the years but not afraid to dive in.
Old April 2nd, 2013, 09:50 AM

This could be due to a worn master cylinder. What do you know about its history?

I looked just now at the Autozone website, and a remanufactured master cylinder for your car is about $14 plus core charge if you have power brakes and about $40 plus core charge if you have manual brakes. New master cylinders for both power and manual brakes are available as well, but the remanufactured units carry the same warranty (lifetime) as the new units.

Replacing a master cylinder is pretty easy and straightforward if you follow a few simple steps. Go to youtube.com and search for "master cylinder replacement" or something similar, and a number of videos will turn up. I just replaced the MS on my '73 wagon, and it was pretty straightforward. You should get a flarenut wrench (photo below) of the correct size to remove the brake lines from the MS as the nuts can be tight, and a regular open-end wrench will likely just round off the corners.

You'll need to bleed the MS at the bench before putting it on the car. The videos show this as well. I bought my MS at Autozone, and it came with a complete bench-bleeding kit and instructions which worked very well.

Last edited by jaunty75; April 2nd, 2013 at 09:53 AM.
Old April 2nd, 2013, 02:05 PM