Very hard brake pedal

Search this Thread

Old September 17th, 2017, 07:52 PM

Very hard brake pedal

I have been searching but not yet found any solution to my problem. All new everything, brake system. Reproduction parts. Front disc conversion. I bleed the brakes with the help of my wife, all went well and all air seem to be removed. Afterwards my brake pedal is very hard to push. It will stop the car but something is bad wrong. I talked to Mark Remmel today he says my cam should supply enough vacuum, i thought i had 15 inch of vacuum but today my gauge says only 12 inch vacuum. The motor runs great or seems to, but ill have to admit im not good with a timing light, i did my best and it really seems to run very well. It fires right up and has alot of power, but perhaps there are carb and timing adjustments i could make to create more vacuum? Im almost done with the build, i drove it out of the garage into the sun for the first time in 4.5 years, im excited.
Any ideas on my brakes would be appreciated. If the porportioning valve got out of center what would the effect be of that? And how do you center one?
Thanks
Steve
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
054.JPG (2.92 MB, 7 views)

Last edited by steverw; September 17th, 2017 at 07:54 PM.
Old September 18th, 2017, 04:58 AM
Administrator

A very hard brake pedal is usually a bad power booster.
Old September 18th, 2017, 11:31 AM

Thanks Eric, I appreciate your reply
Old September 18th, 2017, 01:42 PM