brake bleeder kit_motive

Search this Thread

Old May 3rd, 2017, 05:51 PM

brake bleeder kit_motive

hello there, any of you own one of these? a friend at work mentioned it..for a 1 man show, how does it fare? any feedback would be appreciated.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Motive-Pr...0105/121779259
Old May 3rd, 2017, 06:12 PM

I have no experience with that model, but I made my own for my other cars using this site as a guide:
http://faculty.ccp.edu/faculty/dreed...atech/bleeder/

Just gotta make a lid for the master cylinder similar to this:
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...d-manners.html
Originally Posted by don71
Since were on the subject of bleeding brakes, I'll share this old tip I discovered in the car mags back in the day. Its simply a piece of steel with a gasket and a milton air fitting threaded into it. Apply 15psi + or - and move some fluid pretty rapidly if you want it too.

I flush my system every two/three years...about a quart through it.

Old May 4th, 2017, 07:59 AM
Old(s) Fart

I prefer a vacuum bleeder over a pressure bleeder.
Old May 4th, 2017, 08:33 AM

The best way to bleed your brakes is the "old-fashioned" way. I've used all sorts of pressure bleeders and vacuum bleeders both professional and for a DIYer. IMHO they don't give decent results.

If you're set on getting a power bleeder it seems that one is a few cents cheaper on Amazon. Plus you'll get it faster, especially if you are a Prime member.

Amazon Amazon
Old May 4th, 2017, 08:55 AM
CH3NO2 LEARN IT BURN IT

I have used the Motive bleeder with great results for the last 10 years. But I did need to upgrade the clear line to thicker wall tube. The line it came with burst. It was a defect in the hose. I caught it before any damage was done. Brake fluid on paint aint nice. I always lay something non-porous around the paint and bay before I bleed. Hopefully, that problem has been resolved? Others have reported that it has since been. The pneumatic bleeders are the top dogs.