Disk brakes for the Y-body cars

Search this Thread

Old March 25th, 2016, 11:46 AM
Old(s) Fart

Disk brakes for the Y-body cars

Those of us with one of the 61-63 F-85/Cutlass/Jetfire cars know that the go-kart sized drum brakes are kind of marginal. Ever since I got my 62 wagon, I've been working on a four wheel disk brake conversion that retained the 4 x 4.5" wheel bolt pattern. Yes, I know Scarebird sells a bracket for this, at least for the front, and while I'm sure it's a good product, I've never been thrilled with it for two reasons. First, I wanted to retain the vintage 14" aluminum slot mags I have on the car currently, and even hoped to be able to run the optional factory 15" steel wheels with dog dish caps (the standard 13" wheels are a lost cause unless you settle for 9" rotors). Second, I've never been a fan of any aftermarket disk conversion that used a flat plate mount for the sliding caliper. I know lots of kits do this, but as an engineer, I realize that the factory brackets are designed to react the braking loads from the outer pads; without that, all this load goes into bending the caliper mounting pins, which were never designed for that.

I've been compiling a fairly extensive list of rotors with the 4 x 4.5 bolt pattern. There are a lot more than you think. Unfortunately, most of them are FWD cars, with very little offset from the wheel mounting surface to the rotor friction surface. For example, here's the Galant rotor that Scarebird uses:

Here's the one I went with for the front:

Note that the offset on this one is about 2", vs less than 1" on the Galant rotor. That pushes the caliper inboard, away from the wheel, allowing more flexibilty in wheel selection. It's also about 11" in diameter, which is about the size of stock A-body rotors. Note that it is only 20mm thick, but vented, and the Saab that it comes from weighs more than the 2700 lbs of my wagon.

Rear rotors I picked are from an RX-7: