Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

Spot Weld Drilling

Search this Thread

Old June 24th, 2013, 01:34 PM

Spot Weld Drilling

Since I have no experience yet, I'm looking for advice regarding spot welds and drilling them out.

Is it best to use a standard metal drill bit? Or is there a specialized bit I should use?

If using a bit, do I simply find one that is slightly larger than the weld and go through both pieces of metal? Or do I drill out the weld on the 'junk' half and try to not drill completely through the part I want to re-use from the donor?

Once the donor part has been removed, how do I go about attaching it to the vehicle? Seems that if I lap weld the donor part I'm asking for moisture/corrosion to start between the two pieces... something I really want to avoid. So what's the trick to avoid that issue?

Thanks,
Steve
Old June 24th, 2013, 03:53 PM

as far as paint use weldable primer in the weld areas but its a no win situation you are going to burn the paint its just less exposure with the primer and a dp primer elsewhere.
use a spot weld cutter made for this purpose if used properly you only cut through the first layer which leaves something to weld to on reassembly a plug weld vs. triggering a hole up much neater.. but if you have a hole to fill i keep a small piece of copper plate that backs up the weld and keeps the metal from falling out when i can.
after wards use seam sealer on the joints and primer over
Old June 24th, 2013, 04:02 PM
Administrator

There are a multitude of bits for drilling out spot welds from inexpensive to expensive.

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...it&FORM=RESTAB
Old June 24th, 2013, 04:10 PM

You can use a regular bit but is quite tricky and you will end up going through both pieces. Do use one of the spot weld cutters already listed. Cost is more, but well worth it in the long run. Either way, it still takes a lot of time to drill out all of those pesky things.
Old June 24th, 2013, 04:30 PM