Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

Bodyworking my 70 W30

Search this Thread

Old March 11th, 2013, 10:47 AM

Bodyworking my 70 W30

Body work CAN be done at home with basic body work tools and lots of patience!

Three months ago, I had no "real" bodywork experience. I started with a few hammers, dollies, oxy/acetylene torch, snips, files, a rusty old fender, and the internet! After about 100 hours of cutting, shaping, welding and grinding the old fender, I decided to tackle my restoration fenders. I won't bore anyone with pictures of the scrap pieces I made, just jump ahead to the good stuff.

I'm not a pro, but this is my method.

Starting with a piece of sheetmetal from a "donor" hood, I made new patch panels. First, make a hammer form out of 3/4" MDF to create the swages. I used a router to make the template in the MDF. Mark out the swages on the patch. Clamp your steel to the hammerform to keep it from moving. Using a combination of hammers and an old chisel that I rounded off the ends, I slowly worked the swages into the piece. It helps to drill the holes first to make it easier to stretch the metal.

Next step, form the crease. To do this, I clamped it to the work bench, sandwiched between the bench and a piece of angle iron. Then I bent to the approximate angle.

To get the contour of the panel, I first made a template and a buck to check my work. Slowly create the contour by rolling the patch over various tubes, pipes, and even an oxy bottle. Work slowly until the bends match your pattern. It is easy to bend and get a crease if you're not careful.