what type/brand of paint

Search this Thread

Old July 31st, 2017, 07:55 AM

what type/brand of paint

so, I'm thinking about painting my 72, with the original Pinehurst green. I have a friend who can spray the car. But I'm not sure what brand and type of paint I should get. Any suggestions?
Old July 31st, 2017, 03:55 PM

http://www.automotivetouchup.com/ind...arnoslider.htm

they have tons of factory color paint for thousands of models. They have most if not all the paint codes for my 1973 cutlass.
I have not yet tried any of their paint but I will be using it when the time comes. I'm no professional painter by any means though.
Old July 31st, 2017, 04:52 PM

PPG Deltron is what the body shop used to paint my 70 Cutlass
Old July 31st, 2017, 05:21 PM

Ely, I'm in the Bronx, I hear there is a paint supplier in Staten Island, I may have to take a ride out there
Old July 31st, 2017, 06:04 PM
Chevy budget Olds powered

Its hard to find certain formulas still being made due to VOC content in the older style toners. I had to use PPG omni for the copper poly [63] . It took 8 coats to get coverage. Its easier to get the old colors in waterbased but you need a controlled booth to spray that. I could have gotten my paint in the nexa aqua base for 550 a gallon but we opted to paint it in my friends garage. Tcp global online has many of the old formulas available. Many belive it to be rebranded dbu ppg which is great. Since they sell to hobbyist i think they can get away with selling a higher voc content vs. Actual supply stores that sell to shops. Some colors are harder to find than others. You could consider a modern oem formula close to your original color. Mine was hard to find.
Old July 31st, 2017, 06:46 PM

Originally Posted by scottyr33
Ely, I'm in the Bronx, I hear there is a paint supplier in Staten Island, I may have to take a ride out there
S & I Auto Color and Body Supply, 896 Post Ave, Staten Island, NY 10302. He use to be in Brooklyn but he moved to Staten Island.