70 Cutlass S Front fender script: How do you change it?

Search this Thread

Old May 15th, 2017, 08:06 AM

70 Cutlass S Front fender script: How do you change it?

Hi there! Greetings from Spain,

I´m a newbie in this forum but not in the classic car passion, as I have been owning and restoring classic cars for the past 10 years. One month ago I bought the jewel of my garage, a 70 Cutlass S. You can read the story of the car here: https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...k-hardtop.html

The car is in an exceptional condition for a car this age; it drives and runs great. Everything works, even the clock, except for a couple of small details I would like to solve to bring it back to its pristine condition.

One of them is a broken "Cutlass" fender script. I bought a new one but when I try to change it I see there is no access by the inside of the fender, as the inner fender prevents my hand to reach the nuts. Access by the rear edge of the fender opening the door seems very difficult and I can´t see access from the engine compartment, partly due to the tubes and valves of the A/C system.

I checked the body manual but I couldn´t find any help on this issue. Does someone know which is the best way to acess the script nuts by the fender interior?

Here you can see the broken script

Thank you in advance

Last edited by Sportcoupe; May 15th, 2017 at 08:09 AM.
Old May 15th, 2017, 11:40 AM

Pulling out the inner fender is the easiest way but you have to be careful sometimes. The 4 bolts around the wheel opening often are rusty and will rip out the plastic of the fender liner. You can get to them with oil from under the hood but is hard to get to them. Also with that being a 70, the nut clips have hex heads on the clip that you can put a wrench on to help from ripping out the plastic.
Old May 15th, 2017, 02:13 PM

The absolute best thing to do for emblems is to use barrel nuts.