Are ported heads a waste in a street car?

Old January 13th, 2012, 03:07 PM
Telecom Guru

Are ported heads a waste in a street car?

I've been accumulating parts for a motor for a couple of years now. Been hard to spend any time on it between work and having small kids. But I'm finally to the point of putting something together. Before I do, I need a sanity check to decide if I'm putting money in the right places.

I have a really nice set of ported C heads sold to me by a member at ROP for a very good price. Originally I planned to use them on a 425 block I have lying around.

Recently, I picked up a complete "freshly rebuilt" 1969 455 with CA heads from a Criagslist ad. I am hoping to tear it down this weekend to see exactly how fresh and how rebuilt it really is. But it was cheap enough I really had nothing to lose.

So now I'm asking myself: Are the ported heads overkill for my application? If they are in good shape, are stock CA heads good enough? Should I sell the ported set to pay for some of the other stuff I need?
  • The car will be used mostly on the street.
  • When it does to go the track, I have no motivation to run faster than 12.0. The closest track to me requires a roll bar at 11.99 or faster and I don't want to mess with that.
  • I want the cam street friendly enough to handle moderate traffic in 100+ degree Oklahoma heat with A/C, power brakes, etc.
So are ported heads a waste? Seems like there are guys running 12's with stock iron heads. I want a TH200-4R, so I could sell these and put that toward a trans. Interested in everyone's take. Thanks.
Old January 13th, 2012, 05:06 PM
Seasoned beater pilot.

If the guides are good, I'd run them. In a case like yours, you don't need any porting, but a nice tight pair of valves and guides goes a long way on the street.

Beats getting a different stock set, and finding they need $500 worth of work anyway.
Old January 13th, 2012, 05:10 PM
Seasoned beater pilot.