Feedback on cylinder pics

Search this Thread

Old August 29th, 2011, 01:53 PM

Feedback on cylinder pics

Getting back at my 455 teardown and there was some water in the 5-7 cylinders.

I am taking to a machine shop for a dip and cleaning, but what do you think of this pic. Will it have to be machined. I was hoping to stay stock pistons.

Shop is also going to give me a price on putting everything back together. I am getting them to redo the heads but I was planning on taking my time and piecing it together myself. What is the opinion of doing it yourself vs a shop. I am not a mechanic but I am a tradesman who can turn a wrench.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
cylinder2.jpg (48.8 KB, 91 views)
austria 001.jpg (94.1 KB, 78 views)
cylinder.jpg (77.3 KB, 82 views)
Old August 29th, 2011, 04:51 PM

A little rusty, but a machine shop treatment should make short work of that. Between hot tanking and machining, it will end up all shiny and new. Be sure to hit that with some WD-40 right away and re-apply every so often to keep any and all moisture away from it so the rust doesn't get worse. I just recently saw some pics of a guy's engine that the pistons got too rusty and the cylinder wall cracked.

The bores will have to be measured before anyone could know for sure if they need to be bored any or just re-honed. Imho they don't look too bad. They have to be measured though since most peoples eyes can't see the difference between .001" and .002" (a dial bore gauge can see the difference).

Also, you may already know this, but the little "V" notches at the edge of the piston face indicate that you have the high compression pistons which yield about 10.1:1 if memory serves. (give or take a few - depending on bore diameter and head volume) Where as, low compression pistons have a circular notch. You probably won't be able to re-use the pistons if it needs to be bored out though.