455 issues please help

Search this Thread

Old July 26th, 2011, 06:51 PM

455 issues please help

After reading serveral very similar post on timing and carb and black plugs I am still dealing with this same issue. I have a bone stock 455 just rebuilt the engine about 90 days ago car has not be on the road since rebuild. I let it run 3 or 4 times a week in the shop at home. First I want to say I have no experience with timing and carburators. But when at idle the engine shakes like it is missing and the plugs have a small amount of black sleet on them I changed the plugs and still no improvement I ran some Seafoam and the black smoke did stop coming out of the tailpipe, but the motor still shacks just a little when at idle and the plugs are still black. I think the timing is ok because for one I trust my engine builder (30 years of experience) and the car starts perfect. So again what do I do. Oh yeah my engine buider said the car needs to be driven but I don't know. Oh yeah and it has good throttle response as well Nor does it misfire when on the throttle or will driving the car a good amount of time solve this I have heard that any gm rebuit motor will have some smoke and shaking until broke in

Last edited by antweave; July 26th, 2011 at 07:01 PM. Reason: more info
Old July 26th, 2011, 07:00 PM
"Car"mudgeon

What is your idle RPM?
Old July 26th, 2011, 07:18 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Originally Posted by antweave
... when at idle the engine shakes like it is missing
A very small amount may be normal.
Maybe it's missing - have you checked all the spark plug wires and the distributor cap and rotor? Do you know anyone with a SUN machine, which you could use to check this?

... the plugs have a small amount of black sleet on them
If all the engine does is idle, the plugs will be black.

I think the timing is ok because for one I trust my engine builder (30 years of experience) and the car starts perfect.
Neither of those things guarantees that the timing is right.