Part throttle hesitation?? Rebuilt 455

Old July 25th, 2011, 05:59 PM

Part throttle hesitation?? Rebuilt 455

Hello everyone. Just drove my car for the first time down the street I live on. LOL I know I am playing it safe and we are missing parts...and a tag. Anyways, when I got in and drove off it stumbled very badly. Like an old man having to pay full price at a buffet. When I am under the hood and I rev the motor it is fine. It sounds very strong. What gives? I am at about 10-12 timing when on vacuum (carb vac), 455 C Heads, Edelbrock intake, Holly Carb, Factory HEI (with resistance wire gutted). Also when I shut it off it sputtered twice real quick and shut off. Yet I can start it right back up just fine. Does this sound timing related?
Old July 25th, 2011, 06:37 PM

I forgot to mention I am using a new Holley 750. Did I maybe go with too big of carb? I would really not think so. Thanks!
Old July 29th, 2011, 03:48 PM
" Hoo yah "

I'm no expert, but make sure your car is warmed up, before stepping on it. Your 750 Holley is fine. Is this recently re-built engine?
Old July 29th, 2011, 04:40 PM

Whats timing with vac advance off? Should be disconected when timing.
Old July 29th, 2011, 05:06 PM

Originally Posted by Beob
Whats timing with vac advance off? Should be disconected when timing.
X2. Do you know what the total timing is set at? Is it only for a second, or does it take a few seconds to get past the stumbling?
Old July 29th, 2011, 05:35 PM

Oh yes it was fully warmed up. I wanted to make sure I didnt have any issues first. Not sure actually what the total is, but my mechanic buddy did time it without the advance hooked up. He said too he thinks the timing is off still. We will re-time it again.