How hot is too hot for water temp

Old May 27th, 2011, 12:31 PM
Navy P-3 FE (Ret.)

How hot is too hot for water temp

Slowly working the bugs out of my engine build, header gasket resolved along with the venting issue, just using stock breathers, no oil leaking and not burning oil with the PCV.
Now my engine won't run below 200 degrees, usually 210ish. Now the temperature outside has been mid 80's to 90 and humid. I'm stuck with my 2 core radiator which is soaking in vinegar and tomato juice to clean it out, it was fairly clean to begin with. I'm using the HD clutch type fan from my other car and was going to use the 3 core radiator from it also until I discovered it has a hole in it somewhere. I do have a shroud, using a stock water pump with the solid type impeller and timing is around 13-15 degrees. I got a 160 degree thermostat installed, and mixture on carb seems to be correct.
Should I be running my car at this temp? When I do, my trips are short. The highest its been is 220 degrees. I just can't stay away from driving it. I assume the fix would be a larger radiator. I did notice that my lower hose doesn't have a spring in it but it's pretty solid. Have heard noises after shutdown, could be air in the system? Thanks.
Old May 27th, 2011, 02:23 PM
InfoJunkie

Try Redline Water Wetter. It seems to work for quite a few people.
Old May 27th, 2011, 02:37 PM

my 72 (mostly stock 350) has only gone as high as 205 and that was stuck in traffic on 95 degree weather.

how large is the leak on the 3 core? did you take it to a radiator shop to see if it could be patched? it might only be a $20 patch job.
Old May 27th, 2011, 02:41 PM
"Car"mudgeon