No power out of #6 cylinder

Old June 18th, 2018, 06:28 PM

No power out of #6 cylinder

Hello ladies and gentlemen,
I have a situation here that's hurting my head. I have a 455 in a jet boat that I just picked up, I just upgraded to a new HEI ignition, and a new Demon carb. When I test run it, I'm getting a miss in #6 cylinder. The wires are in the correct order and it's getting spark, I pulled the valve cover and the rocker arms are cycling the way they should, I've swapped different wires and plugs, I've check for vacuum leaks, and swore at it and called it everything but a child of God and still no power out of this cylinder. I'll be bringing a bore scope home tomorrow to look into the intake area from the manifold (single plane torker ) . The old carb was still on the engine when I got it, so I doubt anything got down in there, but I'm grabbing at straws now. I'm no master mechanic, but I do know my way around an engine enough to get myself into trouble, but this one is cooking my noodle. What am I missing guys, any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:05 PM

Are you getting compression? You may have a valve that is sticking and not closing all the way or even a bent valve.
Old June 18th, 2018, 08:03 PM

That particular cyl. is @ 137 psi. they're all within 12-19 psi of each other
Old June 18th, 2018, 08:14 PM