any tips? replacing valve cover gaskets on 455

Search this Thread

Old March 25th, 2017, 07:36 PM

any tips? replacing valve cover gaskets on 455

just about to dive into some work on my 455. one of the things is replacing the valve cover gaskets. I'm a 2 stroke guy.... so I'm a complete newb when it comes to anything with valves. so I'm just wondering if anyone has any tips? while I'm in there should I check any parts for play? just want to make sure everything looks Ok while I'm in there. also should I even bother with new aftermarket covers? they're awfully cheap on ebay. so I was debating it. thanks guys.
Old March 25th, 2017, 07:48 PM

Do a visual on the rocker bridges. If they are still factory they will be aluminum and on occasion they can break. If all looks good just replace the gaskets (NO RTV) and reinstall the covers.
Also it would be a good time to make sure that the bolt holes are all flat to the rail on the covers. If they are mushroomed at all they have been over tightened and need to be flattened out before installation or you will have a leak.
Old March 25th, 2017, 08:26 PM

I use the rubber gaskets, RTV on the valve cover side and not on the head. If you ever need to remove the valve cover you don't need to replace the gasket.
Old March 25th, 2017, 09:03 PM

You should not use RTV on the surface of a gasket. Either use a gasket or RTV, not both.
If you have two gaskets that come together, then a dab it required for a seal, but never on the face of the gasket.
Old March 25th, 2017, 10:00 PM

Originally Posted by svnt442
Also it would be a good time to make sure that the bolt holes are all flat to the rail on the covers. If they are mushroomed at all they have been over tightened and need to be flattened out before installation or you will have a leak.