'67 Toro valve train

Search this Thread

Old December 21st, 2016, 01:26 AM

'67 Toro valve train

Let me start by saying that I am a complete novice.
My Toro has a bad tick. Upon removing valve covers and spinning the oil pump I found there is almost no oil coming up on the drivers side ( passenger side looks good)
First question is how I may be able to improve flow to drivers side without pulling the motor to access the oil pump and pan.
Secondly, my machinist thinks the cam can be reground, but I'm not sure what size lifters I need. I have a parts car, but don't want to tear the motor apart not knowing if the parts will match. Is there a way to tell from the outside of the motor? I believe both motors are original, but can't be positive.
My apologies if this should have been two threads or if this is the wrong link,I'm new here. Just need some help because I'm stuck.
Old December 21st, 2016, 07:06 AM
Old(s) Fart

Your oil problem may be something as simple as plugged pushrods. Have you tried pulling the pushrods and running a wire through them with solvent?

As for the reground cam, yes, that is possible on any cam. Why do you think you need to do that? The ticking is likely due to worn rockers or pushrods on the side with poor lube. Inspect and replace those parts FIRST. Note that regrinding a cam results in a smaller base circle on the cam lobes. With the non-adjustable Oldsmobile valvetrain, that means you need custom-length pushrods to get the valvetrain geometry back to the correct relationship. I suspect your mechanic is Chevy-centric and unaware of the differences in Olds motors.
Old December 21st, 2016, 04:28 PM

Thanks for the advice..
Is there somewhere I can get specs on those parts? The first set of lifters I got had too large dia. My mechanic seems to be having trouble finding the right parts
Old December 21st, 2016, 05:08 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Brooksie
Thanks for the advice..