Low vacuum when cold?

Search this Thread

Old November 7th, 2021, 07:47 AM

Low vacuum when cold?

Gentlemen,
I have to start with telling you I'm new to Oldsmobiles, I have only been dealing with Mopars before.
Bought this 70 Cutlass Supreme that's supposed to be a real SX, but I don't know for sure. Never mind. It has a numbers matching 455 with "the best flowing heads" as I read somewhere. I can't find my note with the casting number. I have no clue of the internals but it got to have a mechanical cam from how it sounds. An runs
I put new headers on, set timing to 36-37 fully advanced but I had (or have) some vacuum issue. It has an Eddie intake with the spread bore flange so I had to find an adapter for the carb. All good but still no good. I did all the usual troubleshooting, without digging too deep, but can't find out what's wrong. When I start it could it has 5-6 Hg vacuum, then after driving 5-10 minutes the power brakes start working and then i have around 10-12 and it idles too high (900 rpm?). I have tested different carbs, right now I run a Holley vac secondary. Put in a 3.5 power valve so it runs rich before it warms up and vacuum closes the valve.
When it warms up it runs like a dream. If I just roll 10-15 mph and floors it on drive it shifts into third gear with the 275's spinning until I let of. The gearing seems to be around 4.11 and of course that helps, but still
What could cause an engine to go from 5 to 12 Hg vacuum just because it warms up?
Thankful for any ideas!
Old November 8th, 2021, 06:21 AM

I would give it a compression test, cold then do it hot, and see what it says.
Old November 8th, 2021, 07:56 AM

Originally Posted by 442Harv
I would give it a compression test, cold then do it hot, and see what it says.
So you think the rings can seal better when hot, or are you thinking valves?
Old November 8th, 2021, 08:09 AM

A leak down test can tell you that.
Old November 8th, 2021, 12:48 PM