455 or 350 in an 82 cutlass?

Search this Thread

Old June 21st, 2021, 02:18 PM

455 or 350 in an 82 cutlass?

I recently bought an 82 cutlass S that has a 350 rocket,turbo 400 in it already.has a 4 barrel holley..I'm looking to upgrade to a 1968 455 engine out of a 68 delmont...wondering will this engine drop in?and what kind of rear end work or gears would I need?I'm a newbie so go easy 😂..thanks
Old June 21st, 2021, 02:41 PM

The 455 motor will drop right in and bolt up to the th400 trans .Be aware that the height of the 455 is taller than the 350 .if you are using a stock intake i think you'll be fine with hood clearance if you use a performer intake its doable but much tighter i had to get creative with an air cleaner to close the factory hood on my 80. regarding the rear end i still have my factory 7.5 rear in my car but we upgraded it with moser axles and a posi carrier from an s10 blazer with 3:23 gears .It has held up to the torque of the 455 for 2 summers now and i dont baby it.That being said i am still running 14 in tires which imo is easier on the rear. all bets are off if i were to put slicks on it and head to the drag strip. if i had the money i would have bought a ford 9 inch all set up for a g-body.
Old June 21st, 2021, 02:49 PM

Originally Posted by deadeyejedi