1970 Steel OAI Hood Fact or Fantasy

Search this Thread

Old September 18th, 2010, 08:31 AM

1970 Steel OAI Hood Fact or Fantasy

Hey Guys! I ran across a guy at my local cruise night,he has a 72 SX.He swears a high school buddy bought new and still owns a 70 442 with a steel OAI hood not just the frame underneath but the whole hood.I've been fooling with oldsmobile for many years and have never even heard of anything like this. Personally I think he is full of sh*t but he said he would get me over to his friends garage to see it. Can anybody out there confirm this hoods existence if so it has to be super rare I'm thinking prototype.
Old September 18th, 2010, 08:38 AM

I'd guess if it was a prototype it be on a 70 not a 72. He probably saw the metal frame underneath and thought wow its metal
Old September 18th, 2010, 08:48 AM

That is what I said and showed him the bottom of mineand he went to the scoops on top and said they were steel on his friends hood
Old September 18th, 2010, 10:30 AM
Oldsdruid

Dollar to a dime says it's a glass hood, or a steel hood that's had 'glass scoops moulded onto it. I can only imagine the stamping problems you'd encounter trying to make a W25 hood in metal.

Dollar to a grand says his car's not a 1972 SX, since those were made only in 70-71.
Old September 18th, 2010, 11:36 AM
Old(s) Fart

Where's Kurt's BS meter when you need it...

Now, my 68 W-30 has a metal O.A.I. hood. Of course, the O.A.I. is under the bumper.
Old September 18th, 2010, 12:17 PM
Trying to remember member

Originally Posted by joe_padavano
Where's Kurt's BS meter when you need it...
Attached Images
File Type: gif
BS MeterDetector.gif (51.4 KB, 55 views)
Old September 18th, 2010, 04:30 PM

I love that.

WOOOT!! First post on the new computer. My old one (9 years to be exact) finally died on thrusday.
Old September 22nd, 2010, 01:19 PM

If you get a chance to go over and look at it, take a magnet along and let us know what you find.
Old September 22nd, 2010, 01:34 PM