70 442 Started, drove 200 yards and stalled. Won’t start.

Old June 19th, 2018, 02:49 PM

70 442 Started, drove 200 yards and stalled. Won’t start.

I’ll preface by saying I’m new to carbs and an older car so trying to self teach as best as possible. I am very mechanical. Race cars that I built. Fix my own BMWs. Just no carbs yet. The car is new to me and since having it I have driven it a bunch. It lives on a trickle charger and has a fresh battery.

I went out of town for 18 days. A friend started and let it idle a couple times while I was gone.

Was going to take it to pool with daughter today. It fired right up. Backed it out of drive way. And at first stop sign in neighborhood it stalled. Wouldn’t restart. Let it roll down hill to house. Tried a few more times. Nadda.

Got it pushed into garage and same deal. It doesn’t “sound” like it is trying to start. Just cranking. Not sure what could have happened to have put miles on it. Instantly fire and then stall.

Gas gauge reads full full but not sure it’s 100% accurate. Going to get some gas and carb cleaner. See if it will turn over.

Where to start abd check? Thanks, everyone.
Old June 19th, 2018, 03:06 PM

Check for fuel and check for spark.

What type of distributor does it have? Original points, electronic points conversion, GM HEI, aftermarket HEI, or ???
Knowing which system it has will determine the troubleshooting steps for ignition issues.
Old June 19th, 2018, 06:01 PM

Originally Posted by Fun71
Check for fuel and check for spark.

What type of distributor does it have? Original points, electronic points conversion, GM HEI, aftermarket HEI, or ???
Knowing which system it has will determine the troubleshooting steps for ignition issues.
Full MSD.

*UPDATE