Young Newbie to Oldsmobiles!

Search this Thread

Old July 15th, 2014, 01:03 AM

Young Newbie to Oldsmobiles!

Hey guys I'm totally new to Oldsmobiles, I grew up a ford guy, built Hondas the last 7 years, and last week stumbled across a deal I could refuse. A 73 cutlass 442 with the 455, 2 documented owners, and 40k original miles, matching numbers for $1200. Cars about a 6/10. Exterior needs paint and small body work. Interior is almost mint, including the dash. And drivetrain is solid, runs rough as is but it runs. Mainly looking for some insight as to where to source parts for the best price. Not cheap Taiwan made parts, but I don't want my arm ripped off for small stuff. I'm needing hood hinges, previous young kid whom got the car from his aunt the original owner, took them off because the hood wouldn't stay up, tossed em, because they were "no good" an said he'd just replace em, which is not as easy as it sounds. Orgi.com has the hinges for $200 but, I hate to pay that much for just hinges, anyone else know anywhere else to get em? Also need window trim for windshield and rear window, front turn signals, and I think the lower valance pieces (I'll figure out what exactly is missing) any leads or suggestions would be appreciated! Sorry this is a long post to read just wanted to explain what I'm looking for. And thanks in advance for any help!!
Old July 15th, 2014, 03:36 AM
Old School Olds

Welcome to CO.
Post some pics of your new
ride when you get the chance.

If you go to the parts wanted forum,
post what you need, there are members
here with parts and can probably get
you fixed up.
Old July 15th, 2014, 05:59 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Welcome to ClassicOlds.

You will find that there is practically no aftermarket support for that car, as they are not particularly popular or collectible (Hey - don't flame the messenger), so your best source for non-mechanical body and trim parts will be other Olds guys and the junkyard.