hey folks! 1966 L-69 question....

Search this Thread

Old January 9th, 2010, 10:53 AM

hey folks! 1966 L-69 question....

hey gang, i am new, a pontiac guy by trade, but may be moving into the lovely world of olds as well.....

my uncle and i do projects together, all pontiac. but, since forever, he has always wanted an olds car as well. here is the situation: he has come across a 1966 L-69 equipped 442, and i have done some research on vin tag, data tag decoding, (i know ALL this stuff for pontiac, but not so much olds.....) but is there a way to define exactly what this car came with engine wise and option wise? we have phs services to send a vin number into, and it gives you the car details, but i haven't located that service for olds yet. (i am using the search feature as we speak, but have not located quite what i am looking for yet......)

basically, i am just trying to verify that the car is what is says it is, that is is originally an L-69 equipped 442, if the options are what it really came with, and just learn more about the world of oldsmobile in general, as far as documenting what is what......

any and all info appreciated, or if there are some 'L-69' aficionados on here you could refer me to for a more private querying, that would be amazing!

here is a pic of our gto, ( i do concourse stock stuff too!) and maybe i will be posting pics of an olds soon as well...........

thanks gang,

davey
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
motor trend car of the year.jpg (185.6 KB, 19 views)
Old January 9th, 2010, 11:10 AM
Oldsdruid

PHS-type documentation doesn't exist for Olds like for Pontiac. Add in the fact that there were a lot of 66 cars that had the L-69 Track-Pak dealer installed and things get muddy real quickly.

Fisher Body option codes are listed on the data plate and there are several guys here who know those codes as well as most of the W30 and factory and dealer installed L-69 VINs.
Old January 9th, 2010, 11:50 AM
Old(s) Fart