403 Budget Build

Search this Thread

Old December 15th, 2016, 04:30 PM

403 Budget Build

Little about me I am a Technology teacher who grew up doing woodworking and teaching it for 7 years. This year our automotive teacher retired and I was told I would need to take over the Auto program. I have very little auto background but am certified to teach it. So I bought a 1977 Formula Firebird as a little class project. We have torn the whole care apart and looking to redo the engine.

I am redoing the 403 out of my 1977 Firebird Formula. I am trying to do a budget build.

I am working with a 403 block and 330 #3 heads which are being sent to the machine shop this weekend to be maged and cleaned

I am looking to do a street cruiser and get 300hp or so.

The rear end gear ratio is 2.41

So that’s where I am starting. Where do I go from here??
Old December 15th, 2016, 04:52 PM
Administrator

Send the block along with the heads and let the machine shop clean and determine if it needs to be bored and how much. Then you can determine piston sizing. If the crank has wear, you might consider sending it along with it.
Old December 15th, 2016, 05:10 PM

Look into putting a 3.73 rear in it, with a Detroit TrueTrac limited slip differential. There is a $50 rebate at Jegs until March 31.

You can also put a FiTech throttle body on it in place of a carburetor. They self tune, run better, require less maintenance, and give much better gas mileage than the carb, and are easy to install in place of a 4 barrel carb. Pretty much plug and play. You do not need a high pressure fuel pump, but an electric one would probably work better than the mechanical one.