Suspension Question: Will this setup work well?

Search this Thread

Old January 15th, 2017, 06:12 PM

Suspension Question: Will this setup work well?

I own a 1970 Cutlass S, and I'm fairly new to the car building scene... I have some ideas in mind for upgrading the stock suspension on my car, but I don't know if it'll work the way I'm planning. I plan on using an Eibach Pro 1" lowering kit, paired with a Helix 2" drop spring. Will this drop me a total of 3", or do the drop spindles need a matching 2" drop spring? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!!!

Here's the links
For the lowering kit: https://www.carid.com/eibach/1-0-x-1...l#applications

for the drop spindle: https://www.carid.com/1970-oldsmobil...266457192.html

-Alex
Old January 16th, 2017, 06:50 AM
Old(s) Fart

The spindles give you 2" drop with stock springs. Lowering springs make the car that much lower. Expect ground clearance issues, especially with headers.
Old January 16th, 2017, 10:09 AM

Drop spindles are not necessarily "upgrades". They can negatively impact handling quite a bit.

Dropping the front is easy. Drop springs can drop farther than advertised. Aftermarket arms have deep pockets that can drop another 1"-2". You quickly have issues being able to get a good alignment with stock upper arms.

So, depending on your budget and goals, there's a lot of options. The A-body suspension is nearly identical (steering linkages changed a bit depending on year and model) for 68-72, so there's lots of options. "Chevelle" parts work just fine.

If you're serious about a big drop and handling, then aftermarket lowers and adjustable uppers become necessary pretty quick. Quick and cheap is springs and drop spindles. And there's lots of options between those.

Lowering the rear is rather more difficult. There are 2" springs, but that's it. Can't cut them since they're pigtailed on both ends. So the next step is a coil over or airbag conversion.