The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Just saying "hello"

Search this Thread

Old December 27th, 2012, 04:41 PM

Just saying "hello"

Hi guys/girls.

I'm not a newbie to Oldsmobile, but I am a newbie to this board. I have a 455 that I plan on building as a hot street motor, light strip action so I'll be asking questions about it. I don't have a car to put it in yet, but I'm not wanting one until I finish the motor. I'd like to find a 70-72 Cutlass S or an 83-84 H/O Cutlass to drop the motor into once its finished. I'd prefer the Cutlass S over th H/O.

Anyways, just saying hello.
Old December 27th, 2012, 04:45 PM

Welcome to the site! What part of the country/world are you in? There's lots of good information here that may help you with your build. When you have time start reading through the engine forum and the major build threads.

John
Old December 27th, 2012, 07:20 PM

I'm in the Midwest region, Kansas City, MO to be exact.
Old December 27th, 2012, 07:25 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Hello right back at ya, and welcome aboard!
Nothing wrong with building the engine first and then finding the car...just that most folks do it the other way around.

70-72 Cutlass S is a nice body for your engine, but if you like the G body, I'd expand the search to more than just the 83/84 HO. There are lots of good G bodies still out there, and production was higher than the 70-72 models.

Please start a thread on your engine build and be sure to include pics of what you've got so far. Everyone likes pics, but they also serve a purpose to document your engine for anyone who wants to know what you've done if you ever sell it.
Old December 27th, 2012, 08:08 PM
GM Enthusiast

Welcome to CO!
Old December 27th, 2012, 08:23 PM

Welcome to CO. We're here to help.
Old December 28th, 2012, 07:33 AM
Administrator

Welcome, sounds like a plan.
Old December 28th, 2012, 08:35 AM

Welcome! And cool plan!