1968 442 Convertible - Let's see how this goes

Search this Thread

Old March 21st, 2014, 08:57 AM
Runner

1968 442 Convertible - Help build my ride

Hi,

I want to start this thread to keep track of what is going to be a long restoration process. I'm probably not your typical Oldsmobile owner, but got bit by the bug and just love everything about them.

Brief background:
Got involved with Oldsmobile about 5 years ago. Below is what I've owned in about a 5 year span.
1970 Cutlass SX
1968 Cutlass S
1972 Restored restomod Cutlass Supreme

I graduated in 2008 and have a B.S. in computer engineering. I am by all means not a mechanic, but feel all things can be learned if you put up the effort to do so. I used some of my better skills to make oldsmobilecentral.com.
(any local mechanics need web work / computer help and want to sway trades, let me know )

New Car:
I've loved the 68 body style, and especially the 442 convertible model (essentially my dream car). I finally found one semi-locally that was in a price range I could afford. It had issues; some rust, interior work, no top. But it had the original motor that seemed to run really well. I decided to sell the restored 72 to get it. I didn't know if I was going to find another running 68 442 convertible that I could afford.

The Big Plan:
I'm on the 10-15 year plan with this. I have 2 boys, oldest is 2.5. I want this to be something they can remember the transformation and enjoy when they are older.

The Closer Plan:
Break down the major restoration parts into small "chunks" and get a timeline figured out when I could get / afford to get things done. I've been talking to a restoration shop locally. The guys have been very nice and I said I can bring my car their to get their profession opinion on what I can do, what they can do, and start getting ballpark figures on cost.

Objective: