General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

56'Olds 4317 fuel pump

Search this Thread

Old May 1st, 2016, 10:04 PM

56'Olds 4317 fuel pump

I have recently installed a rebuilt original mechanical fuel pump for my '56 Olds, which from everything I've seen the 4317. It's a vacuum pump which is supposed to power the windshield wipers as well. There is an attachment that is supposed to go with it, the air dome, which is almost like a CO2 canister that fits in the side. It somehow regulates the pressure. I'm wondering if it is possible to use this pump without this piece because I've looked everywhere and I can't seem to find it. Also, because I'm not planning on currently using the wipers, I'm wondering if it's okay to just plug the top holes usually used for the wipers. Does anyone have experience with these fuel pumps. I'm new to this and knowledge is sparse.

Last edited by Corey Wayne; May 1st, 2016 at 10:06 PM.
Old May 2nd, 2016, 11:05 AM

Originally Posted by Corey Wayne
I have recently installed a rebuilt original mechanical fuel pump for my '56 Olds, which from everything I've seen the 4317. It's a vacuum pump which is supposed to power the windshield wipers as well. There is an attachment that is supposed to go with it, the air dome, which is almost like a CO2 canister that fits in the side. It somehow regulates the pressure. I'm wondering if it is possible to use this pump without this piece because I've looked everywhere and I can't seem to find it. Also, because I'm not planning on currently using the wipers, I'm wondering if it's okay to just plug the top holes usually used for the wipers. Does anyone have experience with these fuel pumps. I'm new to this and knowledge is sparse.