General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Help! Car wont start!

Old April 28th, 2015, 08:22 AM

Help! Car wont start!

Hello,

I have a 6cyl, 1980 Cutlass Supreme. It's in fine shape but I let it sit a little too long this winter. Once in a while I was turning it over and letting it run for 5-10 minutes or so but I let it go a little too long this time.

My first guess was the battery, I brought it in to be charged, which I did (it's pretty new).

The car wants to start. It feels like fuel is not getting into the engine. I am not a mechanic so I don't really know what to do about this. Any ideas?
Old April 28th, 2015, 09:18 AM

New batteries can fail
Battery power and starter motor are the starting system, which is a good thing to have but by no means necessary for the car to run.

Let's assume that it is cranking OK with the now-charged battery, but not starting.

If you suspect no fuel why not spray some Starting Fluid into the engine and if then it catches and dies, look into fuel pump, fuse [assuming injected engine], etc.

Spark is easy to check for, just put any plug wire on your tongue while cranking the engine. [Don't actually do that]
Old April 28th, 2015, 09:22 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by OldManTucker
Hello,

I have a 6cyl, 1980 Cutlass Supreme. It's in fine shape but I let it sit a little too long this winter. Once in a while I was turning it over and letting it run for 5-10 minutes or so but I let it go a little too long this time.

My first guess was the battery, I brought it in to be charged, which I did (it's pretty new).

The car wants to start. It feels like fuel is not getting into the engine. I am not a mechanic so I don't really know what to do about this. Any ideas?