Help!! 72 cutlass supreme wont start

Search this Thread

Old March 30th, 2010, 08:01 PM

Help!! 72 cutlass supreme wont start

I'm a newbie so bare with me guys. just recently bought my first project car. guy said it ran until the starter went out 3 weeks ago. i bought and installed a new one and still nothing. so i had the old one checked and come to find out it is good. battery is good. seems like starter isn't getting any power. what do i check next? ignition switch? if so, how?? i didn't realize it was gonna be so frustrating. i thought it was supposed to be enjoyable!!! i just want to hear the old girl run so i don't get discouraged and lose interest. any thoughts or help would be much appreciated!!!!!!!
Old March 31st, 2010, 03:14 PM

It is fun and you can't beat that great feeling of success after you have solved the problem.check all the connections double check the ground.You said it does nothing.Does it make any noise at all any clicking sound. can you turn the engine over by hand.have you heard the eng run be for you got it?
Old March 31st, 2010, 03:25 PM

Do you have any power to any thing when you turn the key on. It could be a few things. Fuse link, post on the horn relay rusted, battery cable end bad or needs to be cleaned. If you have power with the key on. I would test the hot wire going to the start. Also check the battery cable going to the starter. A few things to check I would do this before spending money.
Old March 31st, 2010, 08:34 PM

thanks for the info guys. when you turn the key there is no sound at all. the idiot lights in the dash come on when the key is turned but thats it. no clicking sound. thats what leads me to believe that there is no power getting to the starter. no i have never heard the car run, thats why i am getting so antsy. i got the car from an old man who just wanted rid of it. i got her for a crazy cheap price so i can't complain too much. did i mention yet that i am dying to hear her run????? ha!ha!