1955 Olds rust repair job.

Search this Thread

Old December 14th, 2015, 02:27 PM

1955 Olds rust repair job.

My olds was showing signs of rust coming out under the paint. the rear quarters behind the door were not looking good and then a bubble started to come through on the door. I nursed the thing along for another year or two and decided to take some time off in November to try and sort it out.

Problem I have with this car is it is my every day driver. So anything I do that takes more than 2 days must be well planned and have contingencies for stuff ups or unforeseen issues.

I got the paint colour matched prior to pulling it down and also made a template of the body curve to get some steel rolled as a patch panel. Body work is my least desirable car related job. I can do it, but I know I'm not that good at it. Anyway. to get it done in the 10 days I had and to a level I was happy with I knew I'd have to tackle it myself.

Anyway I live in Melbourne on a standard house block and while thats all good and I have shed space, I decided to do this up the farm where space wasn't an issue nor was making noise to 1-2 am. which we did for about 10 days straight. we worked from about 7-8 through to after midnight all nights. but it was worth it in the end.

anyway. photos. everyone loves photos...

Before.

Pull the interior out and start stripping

My father was helping me and we started out with paint stripper. this was abandoned as a joke after it took all morning to get to this stage on a door alone.

stripping%20door_zps8j5jynhp.jpg

So we went for stripper discs on a grinder to start , the body had many layers and it was hard going.

stripping_zpsaenhp1we.jpg

it seems there were some less than desirable fixes on the car, as you expect, however while I knew there was some bad stuff there I found some that was worse than I thought and some that wasn't as bad as I expected.

2_zpskrxo5mjr.jpg

1_zpsojusxr9z.jpg