intake manifold swap

Search this Thread

Old July 20th, 2014, 08:39 PM

intake manifold swap

Ok I'm a newbie, pardon my ignorance, I'm learning quickly though. Converting a 70 olds supreme without a/c to with a/c. Need to move alternator to right side from left side. Also replaced stock cast 2 barrel intake with aluminum a4 intake from a 307. Trouble is, with this switch I lost the bolt up spot for the alternator bracket on the intake manifold, as the a4 intake does not have it! So what brackets do i use to mount the alternator on the right side? Help please
Old July 20th, 2014, 11:17 PM

Originally Posted by mkenny
Ok I'm a newbie, pardon my ignorance, I'm learning quickly though. Converting a 70 olds supreme without a/c to with a/c. Need to move alternator to right side from left side. Also replaced stock cast 2 barrel intake with aluminum a4 intake from a 307. Trouble is, with this switch I lost the bolt up spot for the alternator bracket on the intake manifold, as the a4 intake does not have it! So what brackets do i use to mount the alternator on the right side? Help please
Not too familiar with the A4 intake but with the Edlebrock aluminum manifold I put on my 455, the Edlebrock pre drilled AC bracket hole was not even close to maching up with the factory AC bracket. I ended up filling the pre drilled hole by theading an aluminum rod and epoxying it in. I then drilled and tapped a new hole where I needed it. The pic is upside down but you can see the AC bracket
that gave me trouble, this was when I was marking where to drill.

Bill
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
image.jpg (72.6 KB, 60 views)
Old July 21st, 2014, 10:31 AM

Short answer, find another stock 4bbl intake manifold with the Ac bracket hole, or an Edelbrock and hog out the AC bracket hole so it will line up.
Old July 21st, 2014, 08:30 PM

intake swap