Another Newbie with a 'barn find' haha!

Search this Thread

Old April 13th, 2008, 07:39 AM

Another Newbie with a 'barn find' haha!

OK, where to start. I just bought a 1968 Olds Cutlass Convertible. I'll be searching for more info about what kind. It has S decals and trim, but I didn't see anything that said Supreme. I bought it from the ORIGINAL OWNER who bought it off the Nashville Hippodrome Olds showroom floor in 1968. Unfortunately, it was titled to one of his relatives in Washington for a while till he got the car back. Sooo...original owner, but it's been titled three times and I'll be the fourth. I don't know yet if it has the original 350 4 barrel, but it looks original.
The car had been sitting underneath a cedar tree for the last 12 years!
I'm not a professional mechanic, amateur only, but lucky for me a friend of mine with experience came down from Missouri yesterday and has helped get it cranking. Today, we are putting in the plugs etc. and might actually drive it ( granny style only, no racing haha ).
I found this forum because I was looking for a diagram for the vacuum hoses. From the other threads, I gather that I better buy a manual. We'll just wing it today.
I'll try to get some before and after pictures up soon.
Basically, I took a 2,500.00 gamble and it looks like I have a VERY straight car--no rust or bondo, perfect dash and glass. It has one dent on the back panel and the rats have done major damage inside the car. But at least the rats left the visual interior ( seats ) alone.
I guess the old man I bought it from at least picked the best type of tree to park it under..haha!
Any advice on this car would be MUCH appreciated, and if anyone can recommend a Cutlass car club in Middle Tennessee I'll probably be joining them soon.
Peace, Atdog
Old April 13th, 2008, 09:05 AM

you lucky dog! check out Original Parts Group Inc web site. also 442.com and Oldsmobility.com for lots of info.
Old April 13th, 2008, 09:51 AM

Some before pics....