Cars For Sale Please read forum guidelines before posting.

1968 442 Convertible - major project - $1100

Old August 31st, 2011, 03:43 PM

1968 442 Convertible - major project - $1100

Hello. Thanks for looking. I am a newbie on the site and to the Olds moniker in general. I have always liked the lines of the late 60's early 70's Oldsmobiles. Incredible automobiles! I had all intentions of having this car and a late 70's Supercab 4x4 Ford for my winter projects. However, the recent tropical storm (a tropical storm in Northern Vermont?) put a damper on my plans. I am in dire need to make repairs on my barn. My projects and a few other cars must go. My 1968 is a basket case and needs a lot of attention. I recently purchased the car. I have not done any work on the car. A previous owner started restoration by stripping the car down, removing the body from the frame and beginning restoration. I say beginning because very little was done. As you can see from the pictures most of the parts are there. The only parts I do not have are the original motor and transmission, the front seats, carpet and canvas top. There may be other smaller pieces missing, I do not know. If you notice anything missing, please let me know and I will check. It needs extensive body work. All body panels need some work. The hood is in very good shape. There is a small hole on the front lip of it about the size of a pencil eraser. The fenders both need lower patches or complete replacement. The quarters should both be replaced. The passenger side quarter may be repaired with lower quarter patches and wheel lip work. The trunk needs patches. The floors need replacement or patches. The lower doors need patching or re-skinning. All the power top items are there. The center console is in very good shape. I am also including a 1970 Olds 455 4v that has been disassembled. The block was supposedly prepped and the previous owner started putting new cam bearings and plugs in. It has the nodular crank and E h