Cars For Sale Please read forum guidelines before posting.

CL 1964 Olds 88 coupe for just $650; too good to be true?

Search this Thread

Old August 25th, 2011, 12:42 PM
Got wood? I do! (an '89)

CL 1964 Olds 88 coupe for just $650; too good to be true?

Though I'm no expert on these cars, this seems to be--on the surface at least--one hell of a deal:

"Nice project car; a Woodward dream cruiser in a short time. The car came with a 394 engine, I had it converted over to a chevy 350. The car has a solid frame,perfect glass, perfect chrome,solid doors and rust free bumpers with no dents. No rusty panels, no dents in the car. I had the car for 21 years it was my first car I hate to sell it but I need the room. THE CAR NEEDS A 350 ENGINE AND TRANS, AND A DECKLED(TRUNK). I COULD EASILY MAKE MORE MONEY IF I PARTED THE CAR OUT ON EBAY,BUT I WANT THE CAR TO GO TO A GOOD HOME."

http://detroit.craigslist.org/wyn/pts/2564501594.html

I have no idea who is selling it, but if you are interested and would like more info (i.e. an honest assessment of condition) or pics than the seller can give you, I might be able to run it down for you.

Cheers!

http://images.craigslist.org/3nc3pf3...fd92b01ed9.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3k53pc3...9a7a571de8.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3n13m33...ba1e931585.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3n13p33...ff0c2f1ff6.jpg
Old August 25th, 2011, 01:09 PM
Oldsdruid

I had it converted over to a chevy 350.
'Nuff said.
Old August 25th, 2011, 01:31 PM
Administrator

Originally Posted by rocketraider
'Nuff said.
It could easily be converted back since there is no motor or trans! What do you want for $650.00???
Old August 25th, 2011, 02:15 PM
Oldsdruid

To convert a 394/SlimJim car to a Chevy/THM350 (or even a 65-later Olds engine/trans) takes a lot of cutting and fabricating. The two drivetrains do not mount anywhere near similar, and I can about promise the essential parts to put a 394/SJ back in it were tossed.