h beams or I beams rods

Search this Thread

Old January 17th, 2011, 09:16 AM

h beams or I beams rods

What kind of rods are you guys using and why. I'm trying to determine which rods I should use. It appears that I beams are lighter which would help refuse the weight of rotating mass but are the weaker or does it matter much in a car that will see more street usage.
Old January 17th, 2011, 10:11 AM
Old(s) Fart

This topic seems to have come up on a lot of automotive forums lately. All I can say is that as a structural engineer, I just can't understand the benefits of the H-beam rod. Maximum rod bending moment is in the direction normal to the piston pin, which is why every production car in history has I-beam rods. I have seen comparison analyses that show the I-beam rod is much stiffer in that direction for the same weight, or conversely for the same stiffness the I-beam would be lighter. What am I missing?
Old January 17th, 2011, 01:16 PM

I prefer the I beams too but if you're doing s BBO I don't know of anyone making an "Olds" I beam rod anyway.
Old January 17th, 2011, 03:49 PM

My 425 SB has H beam rods. I think it must have been "a good deal" because I remember my builder said it didn't make much difference.
Old January 18th, 2011, 09:34 PM

this is a very simple ,maybe oversimplified (eg no torsional stresses included),analysis/comparison

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c3-t...beam-rods.html
Old January 19th, 2011, 08:45 AM
Old(s) Fart

And that is exactly my point.

I-BeamvsH-Beam.jpg

The H-beam on the far right is the same weight as the I-beam but only 41% as stiff. The H-beam that's second from the right is the same stiffness as the I-beam, but much heavier. Tell me again why H-beam is better?
Old January 19th, 2011, 11:10 AM