General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Autronic Eye?

Old May 4th, 2012, 06:05 PM

Autronic Eye?

Could someone please explain to me what this thing is, and what it does? I'm not interested in buying it. I just came across it on Fleabay and don't know what to make of it.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/300698416300...84.m1423.l2649
Old May 4th, 2012, 07:10 PM

I'm not an expert, but I believe this option would automatically dim the headlights when an oncoming car approached. Someone who knows for sure will have to speak up to verify or correct me if I'm wrong. John
Old May 4th, 2012, 07:22 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Here you go. The ad for Autronic Eye. John is 100% right, but it also puts high beams back on after passing cars have gone by
Old May 5th, 2012, 05:44 AM

$750 for it. Unbelievable. It might be worth 10% of that. At least he'll throw in free shipping.
Old May 5th, 2012, 06:34 AM
2 '66 98's

Considering how extremely rare this unit is and that it is NOS, he might be expecting a little too much but is not that far off the mark. It is only for the guy who's car is A#1 and is looking to add something most people do not have. You'll notice there is not a great flurry of activity on it.
Old May 5th, 2012, 07:17 AM

That was on a '59 Caddy , my Mom's car when I was growing up . Mounted on top of the dash in the middle , near the windshield .