The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Intro- 1941 Oldsmobile 96 Custom Cruiser Business Coupe

Old February 8th, 2011, 11:52 PM

Intro- 1941 Oldsmobile 96 Custom Cruiser Business Coupe

I've finally got my priorities straight and I'm looking at getting my 1941 Oldsmobile the much needed love she deserves.

Here she is in her former glory with me as a high school punk
The car was originally my my scoutmaster's car when I was growing up. He didn't know much about cars, and for a "wax job" and other maintenance tasks he would let us drive the car to the high school dances. After I graduated from High school, I remained good friends with my old scoutmaster, and he started having bigger and bigger problems with the car. I ended up rebuilding the brakes, the suspension, and fixing a leaky head gasket for him. One day he got tired of the hassle and offered to sell me the car. With my dad loaning me the $$ I bought it on the spot.

Since then, I've graduated college with an engineering degree, got married, had 2 kids, and finally find myself on a good financial footing, with a steady job to tackle the ol 41.

I recently resurected her from the dead, put her on the insurance, bought a new battery and drove her to work a couple of times last week. My immediate squawks are:
  1. leaking thermostat housing
  2. replace hi-low beam headlight switch (short)
  3. sandblast/powedercoat original rims (had one of the radials fail on the freeway and the bias ply spare was flat)
  4. rewire everything under the dash

I have a good head start on all these items except I can't find a thermostat housing for the original 238 straight 6. If anyone knows of a replacement, or swappable part, or a source for an original I'm anxious to get one on order.